ABC21 honored with two Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Regional Edward R. Murrow Award
Regional Edward R. Murrow Award(RTDNA)
Published: May. 18, 2022 at 1:36 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WPTA) - ABC21 is the recipient of two 2022 Regional Edward R. Murrow awards -- each presented for an entry featuring the station’s “21Country” reports.

Those winning entries in the annual competition sponsored by the Radio Television Digital News Association are:

ABC21 advances to the national competition against the winners from other regions. The station competes in Region 7, which comprises broadcasters based in Indiana, Illinois, Ohio and Michigan.

WPTA -- which encompasses ABC21 and Fort Wayne’s NBC -- earned eight Regional Murrow Awards and two National Murrow Awards in the previous four years, with three regional honors in 2021. Earlier this year, ABC21 received seven awards in the Society of Professional Journalists “Best in Indiana” competition, and nominations for 15 Emmy Awards, including Overall Excellence and News Excellence, from the Central Great Lakes Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Copyright 2022 WPTA. All rights reserved.